1316,1 | We’re Erasmus

Our lives are not measured by money, stuff or tangible objects we own. Our lives, more specifically what we are really made of are moments, experiences; the people you meet along the way is what really make you realize how wealthy you are. I was concerned about this fact when I came back home for Christmas leaving my second home for a weeks.

For the last three months I have been living in Vesalius, a quite old, grey but cozy dorm in the city of Gent, Belgium. First days were hard, yes I had to start again. New people, new atmosphere. Everything was still undiscovered, completely unknown. This is the “confortable zone” many people is talking about, moving off what you are used to starting from zero somewhere else doing whatever different. There I realized that all I had at home was nothing compared to what I was about to get there, and now I know it happened. The same people and atmosphere I was afraid off at the beginning made me change the way I see things now. They made me appreciate the little things of my day-to-day, they made me realize how important is to have goals, to see things clear, to not regret about nothing and above all, enjoy every second of your short live.

Once an Erasmus, always an Erasmus.

Now I am a little bit richer although I spent most of my savings there, richer because I earned 50 new friends from over 18 countries, 18 homes to stay and 1 family I belong to. This is what Erasmus is supposed to be, further than partying, studying and lazy days. To get new friends and meet people around the world is what keeps you moving forward, the thing that makes you feel completed when you get home for Christmas knowing that no-one else will live the things you did and secrets will be secrets forever. Priceless.

All I can say now is thanks, I’m feeling so thankful for the people I met there: Latvians, Czech, Germans, Spanish, Scottish, Romanians, French, Mexicans (Mexican), Polish, Russian, Italians, Portuguese, Dutchs, Slovenians, Greeks  and our lovely hosts, the Belgians. Thank you to make from this six months the most unforgettable experience we could ever had. This story is not ended yet nor will never end. 31st of January is going to arrive and there will be people who will leave again, heading out to home, saying bye forever; there will be others that will stay for another semester; but what I am really sure about is that what we lived together will stay forever at the bottom of our hearts. We belong to each others, we are Erasmus.

One thought on “1316,1 | We’re Erasmus

Leave a Reply

